Greetings, from LocalGrow!

Hello, and welcome to the LocalGrow blog. My name is Peter Zabelin and I am the founder and director of LocalGrow. As far back as I can remember, I recall being at my Grandmother’s house, helping her in her garden that she took care of so well. This is where I learned the techniques and processes necessary to cultivate and sustain a successful garden. I remember always feeling so proud of my work. It was such a wonderful process from beginning to end and my goal is to help others find just as much joy and happiness from gardening as I did and still do.

One day, a friend of mine and I were getting ready to start our own garden and I felt a little unsure as to how I should approach the process. We searched online and found that there weren’t any easy-to-understand directions on how to grow and cultivate produce in an organized format. The information that we found was not enough to help us develop our own garden from start to finish.

This is when I came up with the idea. I thought that there must be many people out there just as confused about the same things as I was when I was trying to start my own garden. LocalGrow’s purpose is to inform and bring the like-minded community together to network and educate each other on how to successfully grow and sustain a garden, and enrich life.

I look forward to learning from future community input on LocalGrow and hope it’s as helpful for you as it is for me. Stay tuned for future posts about my own gardening endeavors. I’ll be sure to share special techniques that I’ve learned (and am still learning) that will be specific to various climates and seasons. I’ll also share some of my favorite recipes to help you think of how you can use your garden to its fullest potential. Please feel free to comment with any questions you may have.

Happy Growing!

– Pete

2 thoughts on “Greetings, from LocalGrow!

  1. Great work, Peter. Good for you! I used to go fishing with your dad, and we would get our worms from the compost pile that your great grandfather had in the corner of the Russian River property. It was the sweetest smelling soil I ever encountered. Glad to see that love of the land stayed in the family…

    • Hi Michael,

      Thank you for your post! It’s great to hear from you. It’s funny you say that, because the compost pile is actually still there. It provides great soil each season, and is the foundation of my garden’s success. I’m happy you reached out and I hope to hear from you again soon!

Leave a Reply

